Tahitian pearls

Welcome to the world of Tahitian Pearls

Sibani Perles jewelery combines the art of jewelery with the authenticity of the Tahitian pearl in order to offer you the widest range of the most beautiful jewellery.

The infinite varieties of color shades offered by the Tahitian pearl inspire the creation of Sibani Perles jewelry and make them unique.

Our collections, elegant and current, correspond to the desires of today's woman.

The birth of Tahitian Pearl

A cultured pearl is a real jewel of the sea, born from the joint efforts of nature, man and mother-of-pearl. It is the creative forces of nature that give the pearl its form and its rare beauty. While gemstones need to be polished before they shine, pearls already have a warm glow right out of the oyster.

The birth of a pearl is nevertheless an exciting event. Imagine a pearl oyster gently rocking on the bottom of the sea, just filtering plankton, its only food, water. One day, an intruder – like a grain of sand – enters the oyster's body in such a way that it is unable to expel it. A defensive action is then triggered in the form of the secretion of nacre – the nacreous material which accumulates in concentric layers around the intruder and hardens to form the pearl.

Cultured pearls are formed in the same way as natural pearls, except for one small detail. Man plays nature's role by introducing an irritant into the oyster - the pit - then steps aside to allow nature to do its job.

Proof of Divine Love

Each civilization has its own legend about the birth of the pearl. Yet all of them speak of a very special connection with a natural or divine phenomenon.

In Polynesia, legend has it that Oro, a revered ancestral god, descended to Earth riding his rainbow. He fell in love with the beautiful princess of Bora Bora and created a black pearl from a piece of firmament to win the heart of his beloved. The beautiful princess then threw the jewel into the sea as an offering, where it was caught by a giant oyster. Happy to have moved his princess that day, Oro granted mother-of-pearl the gift of an infinite reproduction of this original pearl, from a simple grain of sand.

In all traditions, the pearl has always been considered a gift from nature or from God. Pearl jewelry brings happiness and makes women fertile. The pearl offers purity and innocence to the wearer. It purifies body and soul; it brings peace.

The mysterious beauty of the pearl gives it magical powers. It fills the woman with an energy that promotes fertility while confirming her self-esteem.

Mother-of-pearl and pearl are associated with marine cosmologies as well as sexual symbolism. They contribute mana, the sacred energy mainly concentrated in the crystal clear waters of the lagoons.

The magnificent pearl oyster is a subliminal symbol of a woman's creative force. The bringing together and releasing of the pearl is eerily reminiscent of human pregnancy and childbirth. This similarity certainly helped spread the belief in the magical powers of pearls.

For the ancient Greeks, the pearl was the emblem of love and marriage. It promoted fertility and positively influenced harvests. Mystical links and stories associating pearls with women can be found in several countries including Indonesia, Melanesia, Oceania and Persian Gulf.

In Hindu culture, pearls are associated with the Moon and are a symbol of love and purity. This tradition has it that the god Krishna discovers the first pearl and offers it to his daughter on her wedding day.

In the Tuamotu atolls and in the Gambier Islands, cradle of the Tahitian pearl, when a young woman is lucky enough to become pregnant, lovers say they have heard "the song of the pearls".

The legend also says that the pearls are the tears of the gods deposited every day in the mother-of-pearl when the dew forms. They bring love and fertility. They are a symbol of purity and ward off evil.

Today, people still choose to give pearls as a token of unparalleled love. Jewelers around the world covet this gem for its beauty, purity and authenticity. By painting it with the most noble materials and the most precious stones, the creators of SIBANI Perles Joaillier are at the origin of priceless jewels.

A SINGLE OBJECTIVE, EXCELLENCE

The 1980s and 1990s saw exceptional development for the Tahitian cultured pearl. Suddenly, in 1985, the oyster beds fell ill due to several factors, leading to the scarcity of Tahitian cultured pearls. Their price skyrocketed to 9,000 francs per gram (the current equivalent of USD75). Everyone wanted to get their hands on "a black pearl".

As president of the section of French foreign trade advisers in Polynesia and vice-president of the Asia-Pacific zone for twelve years, Didier Sibani presented the Tahitian pearl in French embassies and representations around the world. Beyond these international commitments, he took special care of his jewelry, guaranteeing its finesse and perfection at all times. The quality of this commitment earned it the prestigious Fondexpa prize in 1995 – Grand Prix for export – in the arts and crafts category, awarded by Mr. Alain Madelin, French Minister of Trade and Crafts. Only one among the many distinctions won by Didier Sibani.

Varieties of the Pearls

Tahitian pearls

The main places of production are the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Archipelago and the Cook Islands. The period of cultivation of Tahitian Pearls is 18 months. The "Pinctada Margaritifera" can only receive one nucleus. The size of the Tahitian Pearl varies between 7.5 and 16 mm; the main colors are gray, green, blue and aubergine.

south sea pearls

"Pinctada Maxima ", located in Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Burma, can only receive one nucleus. The average time of the culture of the south sea pearls varies from 18 to 24 months. Their sizes range between 9 to 18 mm and the dominant colors are white, cream and yellow.

Akoya Pearls

The culture period of Akoya pearls varies from 8 months to 2 years. Found mainly in Japan and China, the "Pinctada Fucata Martensii" can receive between 1 and 5 nuclei; the shape of Akoya is mostly round or oval and its size ranges from 2 to 10 mm. A harvest of Akoya pearls naturally includes the colors white, cream and yellow.

Freshwater pearls

The period of the culture of the freshwater pearls varies from one to five years according to the dimension of the shell "Hyriopsis Chlegeli " located in the seas of China and Japan. Between 40 to 50 grafts can be established in mother-of-pearl. The freshwater pearls adopt all the possible forms, their sizes vary from 2 to 10 mm.

A SINGLE OBJECTIVE, EXCELLENCE

Pearls are the pearly concretions secreted inside the oysters. The trade name, Cultured Pearl of Tahiti, is exclusively reserved for pearls produced by grafting a black-lipped Pinctada Margaritifera oyster of the Cumingui variety. They have a continuous nacreous layer which does not reveal its core, even by transparency.

Pearls are characterized by a diversity of shapes, sizes, surface quality, luster and several shades of natural colors.

Shape of Tahitian Pearls

The shape of the pearl determines its value. Bead shapes can be divided into different main groups:

Here are the groups in order of value:

  • Round: perfect or nearly perfect sphere with a rate of change in diameter less than 2%. Round pearls are highly prized, but rare, hence the most sought after pearls.
  • Semi-round: slightly deformed sphere with a diameter variation rate between 2% and 5%.
  • Semi-baroque: pearl with at least one axis of rotation. They are divided into several families:
    • les Gouttes: semi-baroque, ovoid in shape.
    • Buttons: semi-baroque with at least one flat face.
    • the Ovals: semi-baroque elliptical shape with an axis of revolution and a perpendicular plane of symmetry.
    • pears.
  • Baroque: irregular shape without any axis of revolution. They inspire the creation of original jewelry.
  • Circled: bead characterized by one or more concentric circles.

The round pearl has always been considered as the most expensive and the most recognized pearl shape.
​Choosing a pearl with a less round shape offers a good compromise to buy a cheaper pearl.

Size of Pearls

Size is determined by dropping the pearl through a series of circular sieves. It is measured in increments of 0.5 mm.

The diameter of the Tahitian cultured pearl is generally between 7.5 and 16 mm, the rarest being up to 18 mm. The size has a significant impact on the price. The size depends on the width of the nucleus and the thickness of the nacre layers secreted by the oyster.

Quality Surface

A pearl’s “skin” can be appraised by observing the characteristics of its surface. Surface characteristics include all alterations on the pearl’s surface such as punctures, stripes, deposits, wrinkles and outgrowths. Parliament regulation No. 2001-88 APF of July 12, 2001 defines four basic qualities—A, B, C, D.

The regulation of the Parliament n° 2001-88 APF of July 12, 2001 defines four fundamental qualities: A, B, C, D.

Quality A: Pearls presenting at most one visible defect or a localized group of imperfections concentrated on less than 10% of its surface. They have a very nice luster.

Quality B: Pearls presenting some imperfections over a maximum of 30% of its surface. Good or average luster.

Quality C: Pearls presenting imperfections over at most 60% of its surface. Average luster.

Quality DPearls presenting imperfections over more than 60% of its surface, or pearls without luster

Caring for Pearls

Pearls are made up of organic material and can retain their beautiful luster for centuries if worn regularly. They are naturally hydrated in contact with the air and the skin, retaining their radiance.

Store your pearls separately from other jewels in an individual jewelry box or a fabric bag.

Store the pearls in slightly damp linen if they are in a very dry atmosphere, or keep them near a glass of water.

Rinse pearls immediately if they come into contact with acidic, chemical or food products. Use a soft damp cloth with pure water, then dry the beads with another cloth.

Wipe pearls dry after they have been worn using a dry cloth.

Rethread the pearls of your necklace to preserve them and prevent the thread from breaking.

AVOID

Any contact with:

  • Make-up, sun products, hairspray and perfume,
  • Soap, detergent, chlorinated water and all acidic products,
  • Talc, dirt and sand,
  • scratches caused by other crystal stones or metal jewelry,
  • Vinegar vapors and fruit juice acids.

CAUTION

Pearls do not tolerate temperatures above 100°C; avoid exposing them to (or storing them near) a heat source.

Also, the owner must be careful not to let the pearl be dehydrated if it remains in a cotton cloth for too long.

Jewel Cleaning

Jewelry gets dirty and needs to be cleaned regularly. Our cleaning service allows your jewelry to regain its original shine.

Resizing

Time passes and it is often necessary to change the size of a ring, the length of a necklace or a bracelet. Our workshop offers this service.

Repair / Conversion

You have jewelry that you no longer wear because it is out of fashion or broken. We will transform them into trendy jewelry .

Creation

You know exactly what jewelry you'd like, but you can't find it in the store. We are here to bring it to life.

Welcome to the world of Tahitian Pearls

Ia orana e Maeva, I am happy to invite you into the magical world that has been mine for over 50 years and we, my team and I, are happy to share with you our love for the Tahitian Pearl, the queen of pearls .

Perles de Tahiti

Bienvenue dans le monde des perles de Tahiti

Les bijoux Sibani Perles allient l’art de la joaillerie à l’authenticité de la perle de Tahiti afin de vous proposer la plus large gamme des plus beaux bijoux.

Les infinies variétés de nuances de couleurs offertes par la perle de Tahiti inspirent la création de bijoux Sibani Perles et les rendent uniques.

Nos collections, élégantes et actuelles, correspondent aux envies de la femme d’aujourd’hui.

Naissance de la Perle de Tahiti

Une perle de culture est un véritable joyau de la mer, né des efforts conjoints de la nature, de l’homme et de la nacre. Ce sont les forces créatrices de la nature qui confèrent à la perle sa forme et sa beauté rare. Alors que les pierres précieuses doivent être polies avant de briller, les perles ont déjà une lueur chaude dès la sortie de l’huître.

La naissance d’une perle est néanmoins un événement passionnant. Imaginez une huître perlière se balançant doucement au fond de la mer, ne faisant que filtrer le plancton, sa seule nourriture, de l’eau. Un jour, un intrus – comme un grain de sable – pénètre dans le corps de l’huître de telle manière qu’il est incapable de l’expulser. Une action défensive se déclenche alors sous la forme de la sécrétion de nacre – la matière nacrée qui s’accumule en couches concentriques autour de l’intrus et se durcit pour former la perle.

Les perles de culture sont formées de la même manière que les perles naturelles, à l’exception d’un petit détail. L’homme joue le rôle de la nature en introduisant un irritant dans l’huître – le noyau – puis s’écarte pour permettre à la nature de faire son travail.

Preuve de l'amour divin

Chaque civilisation a sa propre légende sur la naissance de la perle. Pourtant, tous parlent d’un lien très spécial avec un phénomène naturel ou divin.

En Polynésie, la légende raconte qu’Oro, un dieu ancestral vénéré, est descendu sur Terre en chevauchant son arc-en-ciel. Il est tombé amoureux de la belle princesse de Bora Bora et a créé une perle noire à partir d’un morceau de firmament pour gagner le cœur de sa bien-aimée. La belle princesse jeta ensuite le joyau dans la mer en offrande, où il fut attrapé par une huître géante. Heureux d’avoir ému sa princesse, ce jour-là, Oro a accordé à la nacre le don d’une reproduction infinie de cette perle originale, à partir d’un simple grain de sable.

Dans toutes les traditions, la perle a toujours été considérée comme un cadeau de la nature ou de Dieu. Les bijoux en perles apportent le bonheur et rendent les femmes fertiles. La perle offre pureté et innocence à celle qui la porte. Il purifie le corps et l’âme ; cela apporte la paix.

La beauté mystérieuse de la perle lui confère des pouvoirs magiques. Il remplit la femme d’une énergie qui favorise la fertilité tout en confirmant son estime de soi.

La nacre et la perle sont associées aux cosmologies marines ainsi qu’au symbolisme sexuel. Ils contribuent au mana, l’énergie sacrée principalement concentrée dans les eaux cristallines des lagunes.

La magnifique huître perlière est un symbole subliminal de la force créatrice d’une femme. Le rapprochement et la libération de la perle évoquent étrangement la grossesse et l’accouchement humains. Cette similitude a certainement aidé à répandre la croyance dans les pouvoirs magiques des perles.

Pour les anciens Grecs, la perle était l’emblème de l’amour et du mariage. Elle favorisait la fertilité et influençait positivement les récoltes. Des liens mystiques et des histoires associant des perles à des femmes peuvent être trouvés dans plusieurs pays, dont l’Indonésie, la Mélanésie, l’Océanie et le golf persan.

Dans la culture hindoue, les perles sont associées à la Lune et sont un symbole d’amour et de pureté. Cette tradition veut que le dieu Krishna découvre la première perle et l’offre à sa fille le jour de son mariage.

Dans les atolls des Tuamotu et dans les îles Gambier, berceau de la perle de Tahiti, lorsqu’une jeune femme a la chance de tomber enceinte, les amoureux disent avoir entendu « le chant des perles ».

La légende raconte également que les perles sont les larmes des dieux déposées chaque jour dans les nacres lorsque la rosée se forme. Ils apportent amour et fertilité. Ils sont un symbole de pureté et éloignent le mal.

Aujourd’hui, les gens choisissent encore d’offrir des perles comme gage d’un amour sans pareil. Les joailliers du monde entier convoitent ce bijou pour sa beauté, sa pureté et son authenticité. En la peignant avec les matières les plus nobles et les pierres les plus précieuses, les créateurs de SIBANI Perles Joaillier sont à l’origine de bijoux inestimables.

UN OBJECTIF UNIQUE, L'EXCELLENCE

Les années 1980 et 1990 ont connu un développement exceptionnel pour la perle de culture de Tahiti. Soudain, en 1985, les parcs à huîtres sont tombés malades à cause de plusieurs facteurs, conduisant à la raréfaction des perles de culture tahitiennes. Leur prix a grimpé en flèche, atteignant 9 000 francs le gramme (l’équivalent actuel de USD75). Tout le monde voulait mettre la main sur « une perle noire ».

En tant que président de la section des conseillers du commerce extérieur français en Polynésie et vice-président de la zone Asie-Pacifique pendant douze ans, Didier Sibani a présenté la perle de Tahiti dans les ambassades et les représentations françaises à travers le monde. Au-delà de ces engagements internationaux, il a apporté un soin particulier à ses bijoux, en garantissant à tout moment sa finesse et sa perfection. La qualité de cet engagement lui a valu le prestigieux prix Fondexpa en 1995 – Grand Prix à l’exportation – dans la catégorie des arts et métiers, décerné par M. Alain Madelin, ministre français du Commerce et de l’Artisanat. Un seul parmi les nombreuses distinctions gagnées par Didier Sibani.

Variétés des perles

Perles de Tahiti

Les principaux lieux de production sont l'archipel des Tuamotu, l'archipel des Gambier et les îles Cook. La période de la culture des Perles de Tahiti est de 18 mois. La "Pinctada Margaritifera" ne peut recevoir qu'un seul nucleus. La dimension de la Perle de Tahiti varie entre 7,5 et 16 mm ; les couleurs principales sont le gris, le vert, le bleu et l'aubergine.

South sea pearls

L’huitre "Pinctada Maxima", se trouve en Australie, en Indonésie, aux Philippines et en Birmanie. Elle ne peut recevoir qu'un seul nucleus. La durée moyenne de culture des perles des mers du sud varie de 18 à 24 mois. Leurs tailles varient entre 9 et 18 mm et les couleurs dominantes sont le blanc, le crème et le jaune.

Akoya Pearls

La période de culture des perles Akoya varie de 8 mois à 2 ans. Trouvée principalement au Japon et en Chine, la "Pinctada Fucata Martensii" peut recevoir entre 1 et 5 nucleus ; la forme de l’Akoya est principalement ronde ou ovale et sa taille varie de 2 à 10 mm. Une récolte de perles Akoya comprend naturellement les couleurs blanches, crème et jaune.

Perles d'eau douce

La période de culture des perles d'eau douce varie de un à cinq ans selon la dimension de la coquille "Hyriopsis Chlegeli", on la trouve dans les mers de Chine et du Japon. Entre 40 et 50 greffons peuvent être greffés dans une nacre. Les perles d'eau douce prennent toutes les formes possibles, leurs tailles varient de 2 à 10 mm.

UN OBJECTIF UNIQUE, L'EXCELLENCE

Les perles sont les concrétions nacrées sécrétées à l’intérieur des huîtres. La dénomination commerciale, Perle de culture de Tahiti, est exclusivement réservée aux perles produites par une greffe d’huître Pinctada Margaritifera à lèvres noires de la variété Cumingui. Elles possèdent une couche nacrée continue qui ne révèle pas son noyau, même par transparence.

Les perles se caractérisent par une diversité de formes, tailles, qualité de surface, lustre et plusieurs nuances de couleurs naturelles.

Forme de perles de Tahiti

La forme de la perle détermine sa valeur. Les formes de perles peuvent être divisées en différents groupes principaux :

Voici les groupes par ordre de valeur :

  • Ronde : sphère parfaite ou presque parfaite avec un taux de variation de diamètre inférieur à 2%. Les perles rondes sont très prisées, mais rares, donc les perles les plus recherchées.
  • Semi-ronde : sphère légèrement déformée avec un taux de variation de diamètre compris entre 2% et 5%.
  • Semi-baroque : perle présentant au moins un axe de rotation. Ils sont répartis en plusieurs familles :
    • les Gouttes : semi-baroque de forme ovoïde.
    • les Boutons : semi-baroque avec au moins une face plate.
    • les Ovales : forme elliptique semi-baroque avec un axe de révolution et un plan de symétrie perpendiculaire.
    • les Poires.
  • Baroque : forme irrégulière sans aucun axe de révolution. Elles inspirent la création de bijoux originaux.
  • Cerclée : perle caractérisée par un ou plusieurs cercles concentriques.

La perle ronde a toujours été considérée comme la forme de perle la plus chère et la plus reconnue.​
​Le choix d’une perle de forme moins ronde offre un bon compromis pour acheter une perle moins chère.

Taille des perles

La taille est déterminée en laissant tomber la perle à travers une série de tamis circulaires. Elle est mesurée par incréments de 0,5 mm.

Le diamètre de la perle de culture de Tahiti est généralement compris entre 7,5 et 16 mm, les plus rares pouvant atteindre 18 mm. La taille a un impact significatif sur le prix. La taille dépend de la largeur du noyau et de l’épaisseur des couches de nacre sécrétées par l’huître.

Qualité de surface

La «peau» d’une perle peut être appréciée en observant les caractéristiques de sa surface. Les caractéristiques de surface incluent toutes les altérations à la surface de la perle telles que les perforations, les rayures, les dépôts, les rides et les excroissances.

Le règlement du Parlement n ° 2001-88 APF du 12 juillet 2001 définit quatre qualités fondamentales : A, B, C, D.

Qualité A: Perles présentant au plus un défaut visible ou un groupe localisé d’imperfections concentrées sur moins de 10% de sa surface. Elles ont un très beau lustre.

Qualité B: Perles présentant quelques imperfections sur un maximum de 30% de sa surface. Bon ou moyen lustre.

Qualité C: Perles présentant des imperfections sur au plus 60% de sa surface. Lustre moyen.

Qualité D: Perles présentant des imperfections sur plus de 60% de sa surface, ou perles sans éclat.

Prendre soin des perles

Les perles sont constituées de matière organique et peuvent conserver leur magnifique éclat pendant des siècles si elles sont portées régulièrement. Elles sont hydratées naturellement au contact de l’air et de la peau, conservant leur éclat.

Rangez vos perles séparément des autres bijoux dans une boîte à bijoux individuelle ou un sac en tissu.

Conservez les perles dans du lin légèrement humide si elles sont dans une atmosphère très sèche, ou conservez-les près d’un verre d’eau.

Rincer immédiatement les perles si elles entrent en contact avec des produits acides, chimiques ou alimentaires. Utilisez un chiffon doux et humide avec de l’eau pure, puis séchez les perles avec un autre chiffon.

Essuyez les perles après les avoir portées avec un chiffon sec.

Faire renfiler les perles de votre collier pour les préserver et empêcher le fil de se casser.

ÉVITER

Tout contact avec :

  • Maquillage, produits solaires, laque et parfum,
  • Savon, détergent, eau chlorée et tous les produits acides,
  • Talc, saleté et sable,
  • Rayures causées par d’autres pierres cristallines ou des bijoux en métal,
  • Vapeurs de vinaigre et acides de jus de fruits.

MISE EN GARDE

Les perles ne tolèrent pas des températures supérieures à 100° C; évitez de les exposer (ou de les stocker à proximité) d’une source de chaleur.

De plus, le propriétaire doit veiller à ne pas déshydrater la perle si elle reste trop longtemps dans un chiffon en coton.

Nettoyage de bijoux

Un bijou se salit et doit être nettoyé régulièrement. Notre service de nettoyage permet à vos bijoux de retrouver leur éclat d’origine.

Mise à taille

Le temps passe et il est souvent nécessaire de changer la taille d’une bague, la longueur d’un collier ou d’un bracelet. Notre atelier propose ce service.

Réparation / Transformation

Vous avez des bijoux que vous ne portez plus car ils sont démodés ou cassés. Nous les transformerons en bijoux tendance.

Création

Vous savez exactement ce que vous aimeriez comme bijou, mais vous ne pouvez pas le trouver en magasin. Nous sommes ici pour lui donner vie.

Bienvenue dans le monde des perles de Tahiti

Ia orana e Maeva, Je suis heureux de vous inviter dans le monde magique qui est le mien depuis plus de 50 ans et nous, mon équipe et moi, sommes heureux de partager avec vous notre amour pour la Perle de Tahiti, la reine des perles.